New Turisas song “For Your Own Good” online; tracklisting revealed

Head to to check out a brand new song entitled “For Your Own Good” which is the opening track from TURISAS upcoming album “Turisas2013”.

The complete track listing of “Turisas2013” reads as follows:
1. For Your Own Good
2. Ten More Miles
3. Piece by Piece
4. Into The Free
5. Run Bhang-Eater, Run!
6. Greek Fire
7. The Days Passed
8. No Good Story Ever Starts With Drinking Tea
9. We Ride Together

Mathias Nygård (vocals) on “For Your Own Good”: “‘Turisas2013’ is a very diverse album: it has some of the heaviest and fastest tracks that we’ve ever done, but ‘For Your Own Good’ comes more from the lighter end. It’s a very catchy song and we hope you’ll enjoy the track that we picked to give you a very first taste of the many flavours to come.”

“Turisas2013” is scheduled for a release on August 23 in Finland/Germany/Austria/Switzerland and August 26 in Europe while UK will follow up September 2 and North America September 3.

Yet again the album was produced by vocalist Mathias Nygård and the majority of the album recorded by Nygård and guitarist Jussi Wickström in a remote house outside of Helsinki that worked as the “Turisas2013” command centre and headquarter. Additional recordings were done in 3 other studios: the drums at Atomic Spa Studio and orchestral recordings at 5 by 5 Studio, both in Helsinki. A lot of vocals and numerous additional elements were tracked at Sound Supreme Studio in Hämeenlinna where TURISAS also recorded “The Varangian Way” and “Stand Up And Fight”. The mix and mastering was done in London at Orgone Studios with producer Jaime Gomez Arellano (Ghost B.C., Cathedral, Primordial, Ulver).

While the band is playing selected festivals during the summer season the release of “Turisas2013” will be supported by extensive European touring: after joining the Heidenfest 2013 they will play a UK headlining run.

24.07.2013 (SLO) Tolmin – Metal Days
26.07.2013 (DE) Chemnitz – Rock im Betonwerk
17.08.2013 (SE) Falun – Sabaton Open Air
31.08.2013 (DE) Crispendorf – Wolfszeit Metal Open Air

Heidenfest 2013
w/ Ensiferum, Equilibrium, Suidakra + special guests (tba)
Metal Hammer, Legacy, Blast!, Musix, Noiseletter, XtraX, Metalnews present:
20.09.2013 (DE) Leipzig – Hellraiser
21.09.2013 (DE) Giessen – Hessenhallen **, ***
22.09.2013 (DE) Antwerp – Trix *, ***
23.09.2013 (F) Paris – Bataclan
24.09.2013 (DE) Saarbrücken – Garage
25.09.2013 (DE) Milan – Live Club
26.09.2013 (CH) Lausanne – Docks
27.09.2013 (DE) Geiselwind – Musichall **, ***
28.09.2013 (DE) Munich – Backstage **, ***
29.09.2013 (CH) Pratteln – Z7
30.09.2013 (DE) Hamburg – Markthalle
01.10.2013 (DE) Berlin – Postbahnhof
02.10.2013 (CZ) Zlin – Masters of Rock Cafe ****
03.10.2013 (AT) Vienna – Arena
04.10.2013 (DE) Stuttgart – LKA Longhorn **, ***
05.10.2013 (DE) Oberhausen – Turbinenhalle *, **, ***
06.10.2013 (NL) Tilburg – O13 *, ***
Extended show bands:
* Heidevolk
** Riger, Gernotshagen
*** Winterstorm
**** without Ensiferum

Check for more info, ticket link:

UK headlining:
08.10.2013 (UK) Bristol – The Fleece
09.10.2013 (UK) London – O2 Academy Islington
10.10.2013 (UK) Nottingham – Rock City
11.10.2013 (UK) Glasgow – Cathouse
12.10.2013 (UK) Manchester – Club Academy

“Turisas2013” is the first album showcasing their current line-up:
Mathias Nygård – vocals
Jussi Wickström – guitar
Olli Vänskä – violin
Robert Engstrand – keyboards
Jaakko Jakku – drums
Jesper Anastasiadis – bass